Federal Trade Commission: Compliance Webinar

Robert Skrob, President of the Information Marketing Association, has invited me and one other attorney to speak with you Thursday on a seminar about the new Federal Trade Commission guidelines and how they affect your business. You can listen live via your computer.

Date: December 10, 2009 (Thursday)

Time:
2:00 p.m., Eastern
1:00 p.m., Central
12:00 noon, Mountain
11:00 a.m., Pacific

This is a no-pitch presentation. Nothing will be sold. It is being offered as a public service to entrepreneurs so that you can learn more about the new Federal Trade Commission guidelines.

To attend the webinar, you’ll want to go to http://www.Info-Marketing.org/FTCCall. There is NO registration required.

Here’s the details.

There has been a lot of concern and frustration since the Federal Trade Commission issued their revised guidelines on testimonials and endorsements. While info-marketers do need to take some steps to comply, these guidelines are not a cause for panic.
Many of the blog posts and tele-seminars so far have focused on the rules. What the guidelines say, how it’s changed and the penalties for non-compliance. This teleseminar is completely different. Instead, this call focuses on the steps you need to take to comply, and when you hear about them, you’ll be surprised how easy it all is.
No Fear. No worry. Don’t read legalese. While it’s okay to schedule time to get an understanding of the new law there is no reason to become worried or fearful. The compliance details aren’t that hard. You’ll get everything you need, in a matter-of-fact tone in this special internet seminar.
While most IMA tele-seminars are reserved for members’ only, for this special internet seminar, you are welcome to provide the call details to anyone who would like to participate in the internet seminar. If you have questions or want to participate in the discussion you can Twitter now or during the call with hash tag #IMA. If you aren’t a Twitter user send your question to me at RS@Info-Marketing.org by December 9th.
This Information Marketing Association internet seminar teaches you the easy compliance information you need to have to comply with the new FTC guidelines. This is an advanced call for info-marketers, giving you the essential insight you need to take your information marketing business beyond the next level. On December 10, 2009, at 2:00 p.m. Eastern/11:00 a.m. Pacific listen to the internet seminar by visiting:

http://www.Info-Marketing.org/FTCCall

Here is a summary of what will be covered on this Federal Trade Commission-related call:
• The exact details you need to look for when you review your sales pages and presentations.
• Words you can use in your tele-seminars and webinars to comply with endorsement rules.
• The steps you should take to protect yourself from liability from the actions of your affiliates.
• The documentation you need to organize for testimonials you use in your marketing.
• The one thing you should have been doing all along, that you probably haven’t ever done before, that’s suddenly more important than ever.

Author Mike Young, Esq.

Mike Young has been practicing business and technology law since 1994 and is an angel investor in startups. He's been an entrepreneur since 1988. To get legal help from Attorney Young, click here now or call 214-546-4247 to schedule a phone consultation.

More posts by Mike Young, Esq.